living life…simpler: an update

So I feel a little bit invisible, and a lot bit out of the loop, but I also feel….refreshed. Life without Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram has been very interesting, to say the least. However, I find myself being so much more present to the moments I am in, rather than ones I am trying to preserve via social media documentation.

Through this Facebook/Twitter/Instagram hiatus, I have been able to spend more quality time keeping in touch with friends and family over the phone or Skype instead of just seeing what they “like,” retweet, or have for lunch. (There’s no offense there at all, but I mean it. I have really enjoyed the deeper conversations that my schedule has allowed for.)

There have been a few times that I wished I was on Facebook, like when my friend got engaged and I wanted to see all of the posts, or when I was discussing chopping all of my hair off and I wanted to show my roommate a picture of myself from when I had done it previously.

But what gains have I noticed? I started to think of how much time I spent scrolling aimlessly through my news feed on my phone, or feeling the need to post an Insta picture, just because.

I guess what I am coming to realize is social media is like junk food. It’s not going to kill you if you eat it (use it), but it will if you over-do it. It may sound extreme to say Facebook/Twitter/Instagram will kill you – my point remains that if you live in cyberspace too often and fail to participate in the world around you, then are you really living? Each person has a different answer to that question, I presume. But as for me, I’d rather participate in what I am doing with the people around me. Luckily, these social media tools exist as a way to keep in touch with loved ones who are far away and outside the bounds of my local area.

Perhaps the last perk of it is the fact that I am in solidarity with the youth I work with. They are not allowed to access social media sites while at Mercy – so when they see staff screwing around on FB, it doesn’t send a message of equality. I have openly told my guys that I am taking a break from it all to see how much time I save (even if it’s just the aimless scrolling at night time to get sleepy!) Who knows if it means anything to them, but it seems like another good reason to continue this challenge.

Let me know what you guys think…would you be able to try it too?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

