Describing the internet to an ant.

Day 4: Thinking About My Purpose

Point to Ponder: There is more to life that just here and now.
~ I think this section was disconcerting, as it is probably supposed to be. I am betting that Rick Warren would be completely satisfied that this chapter had me itching. Essentially, it is all about how our lives on Earth in our physical bodies is just a temporary expression; that they are nothing in comparison to living for eternity in heaven with God.

I think what makes it so difficult to swallow is the incomprehensible part of it all. I can’t imagine what heaven will be like – I can’t imagine me without my body – that’s just weird, right?! That is why Warren compares God explaining to us the vastness of eternity and our after-life to describing the internet to an ant. You can’t do it, it’s fruitless. The ant is not going to be able to understand, no matter how hard you try. Same with us.

I really loved this one point he made. “When you live in light of eternity, your values change. You use your time and money more wisely. You place a higher premium on relationships and character instead of fame or wealth or achievements or even fun. Your priorities are reordered. Keeping up with trends, fashions, and popular values just doesn’t matter as much anymore. Paul said: ‘I once thought all these things were so very important, but now I consider them worthless because of what Christ has done.'” I think the biggest point to take away is Paul’s – and then the rest will follow. Once we fully understand (as much as is humanly possible) all that God has done for us, it becomes petty and unnecessary to worry ourselves with lesser things. Obviously, this doesn’t mean that we ditch all of our obligations and check out from society – it just means that we focus less on the SIGNIFICANCE of these things, and we recognize that our self-worth is not defined by these qualifiers.

Verse to Remember: “This world is fading away, along with everything it craves. But if you do the will of God, you will live forever.” – 1 John 2:17
~ Like I just described! If you commit to the reality of what God has provided and what He sees as important – loving your God and your neighbor as yourself (this means loving yourself too!), then that is all you need to do. “You will enjoy forever the vision and glory of our Savior, Jesus Christ.” ( << as we say in Catholic mass).

Question to Consider: Since I was made to last forever, what is one thing I should stop doing and one thing I should start doing today?
~ More than anything, I need to give up on the perpetual power struggle of being in control. I've talked/written about it time and time again, but "Let Go and Let God" really needs to be my EVERY-DAY action. One thing I should start doing is spending more intentional time in prayer. Since this year is so much about spiritual formation (in addition to professional development) I need to create the time and space for God to change me through the work I am doing.

Even though many of you are not (or maybe haven't) tried these exercises or read this book, I challenge you to think about what your answer would be to the Question to Consider. Share if you want! 🙂 Blessings, all.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Describing the internet to an ant.

  1. Julie says:

    🙂 “Set your course by the stars, not by the lights of every passing ship.” (General Omar Bradley)

  2. Erin Pascal says:

    Thank you so much for posting this very good read! It was full of wisdom and I learn a lot from reading it. Your article is a beautiful reminder and a timely reminder for me. God bless!

  3. Pingback: Trying To Understand Eternity

Leave a Reply

