hold on to me as we go, as we roll down this unfamiliar road

Philip Phillips’ song “Home” is speaking to me pretty well tonight, as I settle in to my brand new digs in the Windy City! So far, so good! But I will address that later. [Also, disclaimer: I haven’t posted in a while, and I’m sorry…Forgive?? Okay, read on if you wish.]

So on March 18th, I wrote a post called when I was sitting at this very computer, in the MercyWorks apartment. I was in a very different time of my life – busy with school and rowing and figuring out next steps. Tonight, as I settle in after my first full day in this beautiful next step, my heart is at peace. In the post from when I visited Mercy Home, I wrote “Giving yourself a chance to be a little bit scared about a big life decision is NOT a bad thing.” Funny, because I think I did end up stressing about it – and look at how happy I am now! I also reflected that gut feelings should be trusted, and that I felt pretty strongly about the programs I had visited in Chicago. I took the leap of faith to trust my heart (and my gut) to move into the hallowed MercyWorks apartment – and begin to write the next chapter in my life adventure. I’m proud and excited to share with you all how well it is going so far.

I look forward to being able to share more about the specific experiences that I am sure I will have, but as for now, I can tell you a few things. I can already say that the community is getting along well – my roommates are great and I am positive that with these 15 new friends, we’re going to make the most out of this year. Tonight was dinner on the beach (Chicago deep dish pizza, of course!) as well as mountains of paperwork and placement interviews during the day. Tomorrow, we get drug tested and fingerprinted (wooooo!) and then have the rest of the day to relax and explore!

If you are from Chicago or have any local advice, comment please! Since this is a volunteer program with simple living at the core, I would LOVE it if you had cheap/free opportunities for fun.

And until next time, I’m going to hit the hay. Thanks for staying updated on the adventure, and get ready for more!

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hold on to me as we go, as we roll down this unfamiliar road

  1. Mag says:

    Navy pier (free)
    Magnificent mile (shopping but fun to just walk down, get a hot dog)
    Water tower Place (shopping but also fun for looking)

    Love you and ill be reading this always. Your #1 blog fan,
    Mags

  2. jude says:

    So glad to hear you are settling in well. We love you!

Leave a Reply

