Our paralyzing fear: tick….tick…..tick…..

I’ve been gone so long! Let me first apologize. It got CRAAAY in my life and I was so busy, but then the whole WordPress security breach freaked me out so I haven’t been on. But, I’m back. Woo! Here goes. Let me know what you think, as usual. 🙂

So I’ve written about this whole leaving college, moving on to new things, being scared about the future, enjoy senior year, etc. thing a whole lot, and I know you’re probably sick of it. But I have an update for you, because my mentality is shifting about it. I found this quote the other day. Check it out.

“Try to imagine a life without timekeeping. You probably can’t. You know the month, the year, the day of the week. There is a clock on your wall or the dashboard of your car. You have a schedule, a calendar, a time for dinner or a movie. Yet all around you, timekeeping is ignored. Birds are not late. A dog does not check its watch. Deer do not fret over passing birthdays. Man alone measures time. Man alone chimes the hour. And, because of this, man alone suffers a paralyzing fear that no other creature endures: a fear of time running out.”

These words touched my heart so deeply because I’ve been crazily worrying about the passage of time recently, and now I am resolving to simply enjoy the time I have without thinking about the ending of it. As I’ve heard many times before, “You were given this life because you are strong enough to live it” – and that is the truth! We all are given the struggles, the hard times, and the face of change that scares us. But in those times, we can find our strength. And when it comes to the end of college, I am most scared of the relationships that I will not be able to foster as well. But again, with a quote, “If you miss someone, it means you were lucky enough to have someone special and someone worth missing.”

I sure have things that are going to be worth missing, and I know that I will. But I have come to the point where I simply feel like the luckiest girl alive to have so many blessings to be thankful for.

Does time rule you? Do you find yourself stressing more because you look at your watch or calendar and think of the multitude of “to-do”s?

I pray that you can find peace in your life today, especially during a week where peace seems foreign to America.

Verse for tonight: “I have come into the world as a light, so that no one who believes in Me should stay in darkness.” – John 12:46

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our paralyzing fear: tick….tick…..tick…..

  1. Maggie says:

    Ah what an issue. Timing is everything… And this is a concept I’ve never even thought about!

  2. Julie says:

    Like a little ostrich with her head in the sand and her booty happily wagging in the air… 😀 Live it up, my dear. Being aware enough to be thankful is yet another blessing!

Leave a Reply

