“Oh take me back to the start…”

I took the time, for about an hour tonight, to look back and read my blog posts that I have written. I started with the first one ever, which was a total throwback. Going through the posts, I found spelling and grammar/punctuation mistakes. I found funny stories. I found silly rants. But most of all, I found memories and feelings. Some of them struck me more than I expected them to.

One such post was from July 18th, 2011. I wrote “no time for cameras; we’ll just use our eyes instead.” This should totally be my mantra in life right now. As much as I love to have pictures of different events, I want to soak up each last moment that I have as the school year comes to an end, and make it so beautiful it will be worth remembering – with or without a picture of it.

In the post, I wrote “We must enjoy the little moments in life, the tidbits of disguised blessings, especially because the memories that seem insignificant in live-time are the most cherished when you rewind your heart.”

I honestly was more profound than I intended to be, because that notion has proved itself to be very true in my life. It was interesting to me to go back and re-insert myself into my own head even just two years ago.

I know this post isn’t what I normally go for, and I apologize if you were in the need of something like that. Yet though this was a different kind of night, I think we can take a lesson from my experience. I have taken the time to write down my memories and feelings, and now I have them to look back on. I can read words that entered my brain two years ago, and as the years go on, they will become all the more important to me. Take the time to really understand the movements of your heart and what you’re feeling now, because it will directly impact how you develop and who you become.

Another post I found was somewhat connected. I used an analogy about a candid camera recording video footage of everything we do. Would we want to see it? Or would we scramble to turn it off right away? This is what I wrote in reflection of this idea: “But the reality is, our lives are not edited for God. He doesn’t get only the good footage. He gets the outtakes and the bloopers, too. Remember that we are all sinners and make mistakes; God simply wants us to recognize them and feel sorry for them. I pray that you are able to find peace in knowing that God is present in each and every one of us, and that if we give ourselves the peace to treat everyone with that respect, we will gain favor with Christ. Make your video worth watching for God.”

I hope that these oldie-but-goodie reflections stirred something in your heart tonight. Remember, 1 Cross + 3 Nails = 4-Given. 🙂

Verse for tonight: “This is the day The Lord has made; let us rejoice in it and be glad.” – Psalm 118:24

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Oh take me back to the start…”

  1. Maggie says:

    I remember both of these and especially love the second. Yes. Exactly what I needed.

Leave a Reply

