Breaking God’s heart = Epic Fail.

“Lord, cleanse me of anything that breaks Your heart.”

I don’t know if you agree, but the idea of being the reason that God’s heart is breaking is one of the most depressing thoughts I can come up with. Like, talk about an Epic Fail. But we do it all the time, right? As Matthew West’s song says, I often get caught up in “My Own Little World.”

When I think of this beautiful prayer for God to rid myself of anything that breaks His beautiful heart, I wonder what causes His heart to break. Is it when we fail to love? When we sin? When we mess up?

No, I think it’s more about when He is not our focus. I think that, more than anything else, we break God’s heart by failing to put Him as our first thought in the morning, last thought at night, and most important priority. Whenever we move Him out of that spot (which is rightfully His) and replace Him, his heart breaks. That’s what I think.

It’s so easy to get our priorities messed up though! Like I said the other day, a good thing can become a bad thing if it gets in the way of the main thing. So while our other priorities can be good and wholesome, they become immediately bad if they get in the way of loving and serving God. The beautiful thing is we keep this as our prayer, that God will cleanse us of this trend.

“Father break my heart for what breaks Yours,
Give me open hands and open doors
And put Your light in my eyes and let me see
That my own little world is not about me.”

Beautiful, right? To pray for God’s light to enter our eyes and help us see where we are straying…this will most definitely help us avoid breaking God’s heart in our lives.

“I don’t wanna miss what matters, I wanna be reaching out, show me a greater purpose so I can start living right now outside my own little world.”

I think that if these words ring honestly true in our hearts, then it will be inevitable that God remains as our first priority. The mercy of God is unmistakable, and He is ever-forgiving to those who love Him. So as long as this prayer is one that we mean in the deepest part of our heart, we can rest assured knowing His heart is pleased.

Verse for tonight: “No eye has seen, no ear has heard, and no mind has imagined what God has prepared for those who love Him.” – 1 Corinthians 2:9

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking God’s heart = Epic Fail.

  1. Mags says:

    Love it. Love the good thing bad thing main thing from a few nights ago. This is so true of college aged kids. We get our priorities all silly. Love you

Leave a Reply

