His timing…ridiculous

Seriously though. It knocks me off my feet every time, but today was especially shocking. God’s timing is absolutely mind-blowing. Yesterday, my post was about how I don’t know what’s going on in my life even if it appears that way – and that I don’t really know where I’m going.
Today, (as many of you know), my prayers to God for a “right next step” were answered. I got accepted to my dream volunteer program, and although it is going to be a huge challenge, I am SO excited for it. Living in a brand new city with 15 new friends is something I am looking forward to immensely. It’s crazy to know that I will be officially moving in on July 11th 2013. Crazy!!

What I think needs to be said the most about this is that it is NOT me; this is God working through me! I am so blessed – beyond belief, really – that God has chosen me for this new task. I was not-so-gently reminded by my dear friend Maggie today about something I shared with her last year. She posted this to Facebook for everyone to see, and I am so humbled by her words. I share this with you simply for you to apply it to your own life situation.

She posted a photo that I had sent her that said “At the end of the day, the best thing to hold on to is God.” And then she wrote “Could not be more proud or less surprised that my best friend has been accepted into her dream volunteer program for next year. Almost a year ago she sent this to me and every day I see her live it. Today especially she is shown the benefits and results of living this lifestyle. I LOVE YOU CHRISTINA!!” Now, first of all, I think this is one of the most beautiful affirmations of my faith that anyone has ever shared with me. So Maggie, (since I know you’re reading this), please know that I am so, (so so so so) deeply moved by your words and thought to share this with me. But more than anything, I appreciate that the words I shared with you a year ago are making a difference enough in your life to be remembered!

Like Maggie said, I learned first-hand today the fruits of putting faith in God and truly letting go. Putting this huge life decision into the hands of God was the most freeing thing I could think of, and the end result is one that I am so blessed to have happen. I can only imagine how many times I will look back to this quote of “At the end of the day, the best thing to hold on to is God” to get through the new challenges I am bound to face.

Today, I am thankful. For the countless people who have sent me words of affirmation when they heard the news, to my family and friends who supported me during this huge life discernment, for my awesome roommate Annie who does so much for me (keeps me sane, makes me laugh, served as a reference for me, and was then in the car when I got the call, and proceeded to scream when she heard the news being told to me…and then bought me a Jones Bros cupcake and Juice Stop smoothie to celebrate….basically you rock), and for all of you who I know have been praying for me during this time, I wanted to take the time to thank you. I am inspired by each and every one of you on a daily basis – I am only where I am today due to the grace of God and the presence of every single person that is reading this right now. So thank you.

The verse for tonight is one that I know I will keeping in my heart very dearly over the next year. “Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God, who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given him….Do not be deceived, my beloved brothers. Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of lights with whom there is no variation or shadow due to change.” – James 1:2-17

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to His timing…ridiculous

  1. Maggie says:

    Count all joy… Love this verse. And this post. And you, again, congratulations. You deserve it! I love this blog!

  2. Jamie says:

    I love this, and you! I am so proud of you. I know you will be an amazing addition to Chicago-land ❤ Congratulations

Leave a Reply

