I definitely don’t have it all figured out… (far from it)

I guess I just want to take tonight to make something clear, because it’s been on my mind for a while and a few people have brought it up to me. So bear with me, because this is a little reflection on my Lenten observance. ๐Ÿ™‚

I started this Lenten observation of writing everyday in my “readmoore” blog with the goal of being more faithful to you, my readers. I wanted to take the time to put down some thoughts each day, and reflect on whatever was going on in my life.

Instead, this has become SO much more for me. I find that each day, I am being inspired by the beautiful people who surround me to write things that are truly on my heart. I am blessed to be able to continue to find the words that (apparently) many of you need to hear.

But there is one important point that I feel needs to be said. This has become a beautiful development of faith for me – writing for you has become a way of praying for me. Not only that, but I talk about issues that I am truly struggling with. I have had multiple people comment on my “wisdom” and “having my life figured out” and I simply laugh. I am figuring out all of this as I write, and oftentimes, I don’t even realize the lessons that I’m teaching until I re-read the post myself! I am fighting all of these battles, asking all of these questions, and wondering all of these things in my own mind and heart and life – and that is why I share them with you. I am raw and open in my writing, but it definitely doesn’t mean that I know where I’m going – it simply means that I’m inviting you on the journey with me. I can say that I am glad you have come along.

It makes me think of Francesca Battistelli’s song, “Free to Be Me” — “At 20 years of age, I’m still looking for a dream/A war’s already waged for my destiny, but You’ve already won the battle and You’ve got great plans for me/Though I can’t always see, ’cause I got a couple dents in my fender, got a couple rips in my jeans/Try to fit the pieces together but perfection is my enemy/ And on my own I’m so clumsy, but on Your shoulders I can see I’m free to be me.

Now that I’ve shared with you that truth about where I’m at, a little devotion to end the night right. ๐Ÿ™‚

“I have no other choice as a Christian. I owe it to Jesus Christ to live for Him, to make Him my consuming passion and the driving force in my life. To do this, I have to die to my own desires daily. I have to crucify the urge that measures every action and decision around what is best for me. Paul is eloquent regarding this fact: we always carry around in our body the death of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be revealed in our body (2 Corinthians 4:10). Just as Jesus went to the cross, so must I go to the cross, always considering myself as carrying around the death of Jesus so that His new life – His motivation, His purposes, His favor – might dominate in everything I do.” – Gary Thomas

& a verse, of course. “Be still in the presence of The Lord, and wait patiently for Him to act.” – Psalms 37:7

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I definitely don’t have it all figured out… (far from it)

  1. MW says:

    May you find joy on the journey!

Leave a Reply

