What volume is your life at?

Let’s face it: we live in a noisy world. Tweets, texts, status updates, phones ringing, push notifications, televisions, iPads, tablets, big screens….we exist in a state of perpetual noise. I’ve talked about it before, but I’ll ask it again: does the noise we live in actually benefit us, or does it distract?

I think that often, we need to take a reality check of how we spend our time. We need to remember to not let the noise of this world block out the voice of our God. It scares me to even say that, because I know I am so guilty of it. Here’s my prime evidence. I have the security settings on my phone so that it requires a passcode after 15 minutes of inactivity. It is seriously RARE that I ever have to enter my passcode. Put 2+2 together and you’ll know that this means I check my phone far too much in one day. It’s actually pretty ridiculous.

How much am I missing? How much time am I just stuffing full with checking Facebook and Twitter, rather than enjoying actual human relationships, or even just appreciating God’s creation that surrounds me?

I’ve caught myself multiple times deciding that I should leave my phone behind when I’m going someplace where realistically, I don’t need it at all. I hate how much I desire to feel connected at all times; it makes me crazy that it feels “weird” to not have my phone with me. So I’ve been trying to disconnect on purpose to get over that feeling. And what have I learned/experienced? Peace! Calm! And most of all, I’ve noticed how much I don’t want to go back and check my phone for emails and messages that I need to address. (No offense to those who I talk to regularly on my phone, but you get the point?) It’s just nice to have time where I am not immediately responding to a text message or email, and rather being present in the moment and actually being WITH the person I am with. Especially when that person is God.

Scary, but true. I catch myself getting distracted by the “noise” in my world perhaps even more significantly when I should be most focused on prayer and silent time. It’s oftentimes when I get most distracted, because in our society, silence almost feels wrong. It seems unproductive and very out of the ordinary. Yet in reality, we need those times to focus on the inner speakings of our heart. The point is: the longer we let the noise control our time/focus/lives, the harder it is to be content and comfortable in the silence.

Where does the “noise” come from in your life? Does it go beyond just technology? What about the noise that we hear from societal norms, telling us what to like, who to love, what to buy, etc.? How do you keep the noise at a low volume? Or are you struggling to find the volume control? Comment and let me know where you are at on your journey.

Verse for the night: “Give ear, listen humbly, for The Lord speaks. Give glory to The Lord, your God, before it grows dark.” – Jeremiah 13:15-16

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What volume is your life at?

  1. asb13521 says:

    I completely understand. I wrote a similar post a few months ago when my iPhone crashed during an update and it took two hours to fix it. TWO HOURS and I was freaking out. I felt so disgusted by myself!

    Also, Christina, I am amazed at how frequently you post. It is a struggle for me to come up with ideas and topics. I guess since I generally write about embarrassing things that happen in my life, that is a good thing 🙂

    Can’t wait to see you in class!

    • Amanda! Thanks so much for your comment, it really means a lot! And it’s definitely hard to come up with stuff sometimes, but I look at FB & Twitter and usually get inspired somehow. I also have an arsenal of quotes and books that I draw from, as well as just keeping my ears open for what people are struggling with – that’s a lot of times how I get a topic to write about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

