“There was nowhere to go but everywhere, so just keep on rolling under the stars.” – Jack Kerouac

I haven’t read any books by Jack Kerouac, and I don’t know more about him than what the Wikipedia article provides, but I know that he’s pretty much a badass. I love his quotes – they always get me thinking. There’s one where he says “The only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars.” It’s not necessarily completely how I feel about life, but it is passionate and beautifully written nonetheless. So whenever I read things by him, I get all jazzed up for life.

One such example was this quote, I found it the other day: “Be in love with your life. Every minute of it.” This is a heavy command. Being in love with your life all the time is not an easy task. In fact, it’s not all that appealing sometimes to love life. It’s easy to be mad, to get annoyed and stressed, and to, as Kerouac says, be “desirous of everything at the same time.” But at the end of the day, I think I need to remember that life moves on past all of the crazy times. It’s just important to stay in love with life, because it’s a blessed one indeed.

I feel like this post is short because all that needs to be said is that this life is so short, but the days that are great make up for all of the days that test our patience. As Sarah Kay says to her future daughter (yes, I’m quoting her again), “And yes, on a scale of one to over-trusting, I am pretty damn naive, but I want her to know that this world is made out of sugar. It can crumble so easily but don’t be afraid to stick your tongue out and taste it.” There are times when I know how naive I really am, but I’d rather be naive and adventurous than stay in a box and protect myself from the hurt of the world – in turn missing out on endless beauty. So I choose to be in love with my life. Every minute of it. Even when that love tests me, stretches me, challenges me, and makes me want to scream. I’ll just look ahead to the minutes of life where I will feel the true love that permeates my whole heart and soul, appreciating everything and everyone around me for exactly what they are: someone/something I love.

Verse for the night: “One does not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes forth from the mouth of God.” – Matthew 4:4

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

