‘FRIENDS’ inspires me, yet again.

For all of you ‘FRIENDS’ fanatics out there, do you remember the episode where the six reminisce on old Thanksgiving memories? The coming out of Chandler’s Dad, the days of “Fat Monica,” Ross’ continued love for Rachel, and the time when Chandler all got his toe cut off – all favorites.

My teammates and I have been watching ‘FRIENDS’ every night when we get back from dinner, because Nick@Nite plays it for hours on end, and we discovered this greatness over break. So if you didn’t know this grand fact already, you’re welcome! 🙂

Anyways, I don’t care how cliche it sounds but ‘FRIENDS’ teaches me so much. Or rather, it makes me think about a lot? However you want to say it, the show does a lot for me because it gets me thinking.

Because the episode was about Thanksgiving memories, it got me thinking about all of the embarrassing holiday stories that have involved good old me as the star. (AKA, I was the one who did the dumb thing…) Thinking back on the times where I definitely made a fool of myself, my attitude about it has changed so much over the years. While I used to blush and try and get my relatives to stop talking about the stories, now I just embrace them, and can kick back and smile about it. …Or at least most of them. 🙂 It’s all in good fun now, and seeing as I am older and wiser (?), I can focus on the fact that I am so blessed to have such wonderful family traditions.

I’ve realized over the years that my family is far more involved in each other’s lives than some of my friends’ families. I’ve realized that we gather for holidays with more people for Thanksgiving than some people have in their family altogether. I know that sometimes, I feel like my family members need to know every ounce of drama in my life – and that of my cousins’. But what I’ve also realized is that I wouldn’t want it any other way. I am so lucky to be part of a family who cares so much about each other that we want to know these things, and love each other enough to figure it out all together. I’m blessed to have such a large, caring family – no matter how crazy we are!

In the same way that the friends realize on the show how much their quirkiness defines their group, I can say it for my family. I feel like in ‘FRIENDS,’ each of them hold a very special role. Ross is awkward and funny, full of love but very sensitive. Chandler is the hilarious one who lacks sufficient self-confidence but would do anything for people he loves. Joey definitely isn’t the brightest crayon in the box, but he would fight to the death for his friends. Phoebe is quirky and always can lighten the mood, even if she often seems to come from a completely different planet. Rachel is self-absorbed and shops way too much, but is a great friend. And Monica is OCD about nearly everything in her life (and the lives of those around her), but she is the best host for all of her friends no matter what the occasion.

The important thing is that without each of those personalities, the friends wouldn’t be what they are. Without Joey, they wouldn’t laugh nearly as much. Without Monica, they wouldn’t even have fancy Thanksgiving dinners or any holiday parties to reminisce about. And the same could go for all of the 6 – they each have something that makes ‘FRIENDS’ what it is.

It’s taught me the same lesson for my family (and friends, and teammates). They can get on your nerves, they can drive you crazy, they can make you mad. But at the end of the day, you love them, they love you, and that transcends it all. It’s all that matters.

Verse for tonight: “For by grace you have been saved through faith, and this is not from you; it is the gift of God.” – Ephesians 2:8

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘FRIENDS’ inspires me, yet again.

  1. Kalyn says:

    FRIENDS= best. show. ever. Period.

Leave a Reply

