Something to think about, for sure.

Today, my beautiful friend Sydney shared a photo on my Facebook wall. It was simple text that read “What if you woke up today with only the things you thanked God for yesterday?”

Now you know why the title is “something to think about” – because we always hear that “you don’t know what you have until it’s gone,” but what if that actually came true?

I can tell you honestly that if this quote came true for me, I wouldn’t have a whole heck of a lot of things that I love anymore. I probably would have woken up today with a very weird combination of things. Like, what did I thank God for yesterday? My family, friends, and teammates. I thanked God for silly things like grapes and hummus, because we were fed at a teammates house yesterday and her parents had lots of yummy snacks out. I thanked God for comfy beds at the La Quinta, and for the fact that I have people who read my blog. I thanked God for His epic timing when it comes to random things in life. And there were other times throughout the day that I thanked God. But the point is, there are a whole heck of a lot of things that I really enjoy having in my life – true blessings – that I never thank God for!

If you had to make a list of ten things that you never want to live without (people, places, things, food, whatever)…what would they be? Do you thank God for these things each day? I know from now on, I will make a concerted effort to focus more of my personal prayer time on thanking God for my blessings rather than reaching out for things that I think that I need. I think that in the times that I start with thanking God, I end up being in a much better mood than when I focus on the struggles in my life that I want God to fix. Start with blessings and end with gratitude, start with challenges and end up with stress.

Verse for tonight is one that my brother’s girlfriend shared with me today. I love it. “She is clothed in strength and dignity and she laughs without fear of the future.” – Proverbs 31:25

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Something to think about, for sure.

  1. Maggie says:

    Yay for my two best friends being super inspiring!!!

Leave a Reply

