In the words of Yogi Berra, “It’s not over till it’s over.”

Sometimes I am almost creeped out by how relevant certain things are to my life. Here I am, thinking about what I should write about. It’s the last day of my winter season of rowing – my LAST winter season of my college career. An odd feeling for sure, and as I said to many today, the first of the “lasts” that will inevitably be coming as graduation approaches. And what quote do I open up to in my good old “1001 Smartest Things Ever Said” book? This gem:

“If you don’t make a total commitment to whatever you’re doing, then you start looking to bail out the first time the boat starts leaking. It’s tough enough getting that boat to shore with everybody rowing, let alone when a guy stands up and starts putting his jacket on.” – Lou Holtz

Thinking about how close to being done with college I am, it is easy to be thinking in the future and removing myself from the “here and now.” Though scary, the next chapter of life is exciting to think about. Yet I’ve been trying to stay pretty aware of where my mind is at – I want to remain present and connected to the community that I am in NOW, because I know that I will miss it when my time is up. I don’t want to be the one “putting my jacket on” before it’s time.

That being said, it goes for my team as well. On the eve of the beginning of our spring season, I’m recommitting my mind to staying completely “in it” so as not to lose sight of the goals we have. I would give absolutely anything for my team to succeed, let alone give anything for any of my teammates. So as our championship season begins, I officially say that I refuse to bail out, and if someone seems like they’re teetering on the edge, I resolve to be the one who reaches their hand out to bring them back in.

Verse for the night – “For you make me jubilant, Lord, by your deeds; at the works of your hands I shout for joy.” – Psalm 92:5

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

