I failed…forgive me?

So I failed. Last night, after one of the longest days/most tired I have been in a while, I went into my bedroom because my best friend Brittany was calling me. So I laid down in my bed to chat with her so as not to disturb my roommate in the living room, and when I got off the phone, I passed out. Done for. Asleep. Woke up this morning at 9:15am, still had my slippers on and everything. Didn’t get under my blankets. Didn’t wash my face, get ready for bed at all. I didn’t do my pushups. I didn’t read the Bible. I didn’t even pray. I just p-a-s-s-e-d o-u-t.

What do I feel most guilty about? I didn’t write! I hadn’t written yesterday and was going to do it before I went to bed, after watching “27 Dresses” with my roommate. Woops. That clearly didn’t happen. So now my post from yesterday is really happening right now with you hearing about my evening. What can I learn from this? Well, a few things.

I woke up feeling horrible that I had fallen asleep and neglected so many things that I always do before bed. But then I took the moment to say that if God believed it was more necessary for me to sleep (which apparently He did) then who the heck am I to question it? I didn’t set an alarm, but I didn’t miss anything this morning – which is a Godly miracle in itself. So I resolve to say ‘Thank you God’ for giving so many hours of wonderful sleep! Now I can move on with my day, knowing that I am well rested….too well rested (if that’s possible).

And to put it all in perspective, I woke up with an email from my soldier pen pal from “Adopt A US Soldier” – a sweet program that I just joined recently. So instead of taking more time writing here, I’m going to go respond to one of our own, a beautiful 22-year-old soul who is fighting for our freedom in Afghanistan.

And instead of a Bible verse today, a little prayer to keep in mind. “Lord, give me character that exceeds my gifts, grace that exceeds my judgment, and humility that exceeds my platform. Amen.”

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I failed…forgive me?

  1. Mags says:

    I have to admit this morning when I didn’t have an e-mail I was slightly confused. But I am more than happy to hear that you ACTUALLY got to sleep – something you definitely don’t do enough of. Can’t wait to see you at mass tonight and tell your sweet pen pal friend that he’s getting an extra prayer today. Xo ❤

Leave a Reply

