a competitor by conviction

I can officially tell you that I am BRAINDEAD right now, because I just got done with the annual athletics event that I am in charge of. Over 150 Omaha youth came to Creighton’s campus to hang out with the student-athletes for “Night Out With the Jays,” which is always an evening full of hectic crazy fun. That being said, I have the most important 2k of my college career at practice tomorrow morning. So my mind’s focus has immediately shifted from this crazy event that I was planning, to the very solid goal I have in my mind for tomorrow’s race.

To make it so I don’t completely psych myself out, since that is always half the battle, I’m going to focus on a few things. Maybe they can help you out with something in your life, too.

“Limits begin where vision ends. Visualize success and give yourself permission to win.” – Gary Mack, “Mind Gym” (a totally awesome book!) I randomly opened to a page of the book, because since I’m so mentally out of it, I didn’t know where to start. Of course, I land on the exact words I need to hear. I have been in a rut when it comes to achieving a particular time goal for my race. Perhaps what I need to do is simply give myself permission to succeed.

“You must be 100% committed to each action. If there are doubts in your mind, your muscles won’t know what to do. Let your routines switch you from the thinking mode to the trusting mode.” – Gary Mack, again. I don’t even have much to say on that one. I don’t trust my body enough, or the preparation that I put in. My coaches have prepared me fully for this, assigning the workouts that will help me to achieve my goal. I have been there, done them, and am ready. Now I just need to trust.

And of course, I go back to the “Inches”video, an old classic on our team. I just watched it even as I am writing this, and I’m more pumped than ever.

Now, I know the only thing that I need to do is pray and sleep. To God be the Glory tomorrow (and every day)… because I do it #All4Him.

“I give my all – all of the time.
I do not give up. I do not give in.
I do not give out. I am the Lord’s warrior –
a competitor by conviction and a disciple of determination.
I am confident beyond reason because my confidence lies in Christ.
The results of my efforts must result in His glory.”
– from the “Competitors Creed” of FCA

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to a competitor by conviction

  1. Garrett Kenyon says:

    Christina, you truly are amazing at what you do and I want to let you know that I believe in you and your ability to hit your mark for the race tomorrow, just trust in him and he will do wonders, I know you know that:). Do work tomorrow and trust…

    Yours truly,

    Garrett

    P.S. your awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

