You can have my heart, if you don’t mind broken things.

Candlelight Mass tonight did it for me yet again. Just when I needed to feel the love of God in my heart, the beautiful Sara Francesconi belted out “Broken Things” as a reflection song. Never before had I heard the sweet lyrics, by the talented Lucy Kaplansky, but boy did they rock my world. Check them out and see what you think, and then read on. You can download it on iTunes too! 🙂

Forgive me, but I’m going to go through the song for you because woah, I need to take time to reflect on it and why not share, right?

“You can have my heart, it isn’t new. It’s been used and broken, and only comes in blue.” – Right, I know that this is kinda depressing sounding, but how often do we think about how much damage our hearts have been through? Do we consider that God wants it from us? He wants to take our damaged heart, even though it’s old, used, broken, and “only comes in blue.”

“It’s been down a long road. It got dirty on the way. If I give it to you, will you make it clean and wash the shame away?” – This one I can definitely resonate with. I have been over some speed bumps, turned the wrong way at some yield signs, and been on dirt roads when all I needed was some fresh pavement. So what does that mean for me? I want to give my heart to God for everything, but I find myself doubting my own worth for God to make it clean for me. Washing the shame away is a big one, perhaps because that job seems too big for anyone to bear. I love that the lyric is in the form of a question, pondering simply if the Father would make it clean if given over. But I know that I constantly hold it back, and when I heard this song (and then came home and downloaded it) all I could think about is the amount of times that God has reached out for my heart and I have gently (yet steadily) pushed Him away.

“You can have my heart, if you don’t mind broken things. You can have my life, if you don’t mind these tears.” – Pretty simple, yet powerful right? How often do we stop and think “who will want to deal with all of the baggage I carry?” – even if that baggage was out of our control to begin with. Do we doubt our worthiness for others to love us? The beautiful part comes when she qualifies that she will give her life to God as long as He doesn’t mind tears. It is so raw and beautiful, honest and expressive. I sure have tears to share, as we all do. Remembering that God is willing and eager to hold you while your tears fall is a comfort to be thankful for.

“I heard you make old things new, so I give these pieces all to you. If you want it, you can have my heart.” – I absolutely love this part. It is the epic song culmination of “Come as you are” that we see in Revelation 22:17 – “Come! Whosoever will, let him take the water of life freely!” It doesn’t say, “Come once you’ve got your life figured out!” or “Come! But only those of you who are without sin or brokenness!” No, it is quite the opposite. God invites us to come and participate in His goodness FREELY. How lucky are we! Romans 5:8 tells us that “God shows His love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” …All I can say is, Amen! God makes us old things new, takes up all of our broken pieces (as they are!) and welcomes us into his love.

“So beyond repair, nothing I could do. Tried to fix it myself, but it was only worse when I got through.” – How many times have ALL of us tried to do this? Maybe I should just talk for myself, but I can tell you that I have tried to do this whole “life” thing on my own, leaving God out of certain parts of my life. It took a certain level of maturity to realize that the only places in my life that were falling apart were the ones in which I hadn’t invited God to take control. Coincidence? I think not. Essentially, “I tried to fix it myself, but it was only worse when I got through.” Yep.

“Then you walk right into my darkness, and you speak words so sweet. And you hold me like a child ’till my frozen tears fall down at your feet.” – This verse got me on the verge of tears. Though I don’t like to admit this at all, I have a significant stream of these “frozen tears” that I have been trying to keep “on ice” for a long time. How is it that God is able to free them and make them disappear, only by being there? This is a level of control that I have not yet been able to give up, but through worshipping God in these lyrics and through this song, I am getting closer and closer to letting go.

“You can have my heart, if you don’t mind broken things. You can have my life, if you don’t mind these tears. I heard that you make old things new, so I give these pieces all to you. If you want it, you can have my heart.” – All I can say is, “Yes, yes Lord. You can have my heart, my life, my tears. All of my pieces, all of me. Because for the first real time in my life, I’m beginning to realize that You can fix them better than I can ever dream of, and maybe it’s time to let You show me.”

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You can have my heart, if you don’t mind broken things.

  1. Mags says:

    I couldn’t have said it better myself (obviously..). But Sara’s voice combined with those lyrics tonight…. Well HELLO BBIG GUY yes we know, it’s silly to try to ignore You. But He loves us as we are; broken parts and all, so what are we really hiding from?

Leave a Reply

