inspiration by Nike

“The only one who can tell you you can’t is you. And you don’t have to listen.”

It’s from a Nike ad, but it really makes you think, right? Well, it sure made me think twice. It’s amazing how true it is. Obviously, it’s supposed to apply to workouts, and it sure does.

For the prime example, let me invite you into my evening. I got back from the gym tonight just after 9pm. I was exhausted, and in need of a shower. But I remembered the stupid new thing I had decided to do – a pre-shower workout that I found on Pinterest. Yep, that’s right. It’s a circuit of 75 jumping jacks, 15 pushups, 45 crunches, 35 mountain climbers, and a 55-second plank. The idea is that right before you shower, it doesn’t take too long and you may get sweaty, but you’re about to shower anyways. So I posted it in my bathroom and after a few showers, began to regret it. Anyways, I was not in the mood to do this little Pinterest Punishment, (as I have started to call it) but I thought of the good old Nike quote. I realized that it was my mind telling me that I was too tired, not my legs or abs or arms. If you were wondering, yes, I did the whole thing.

But the thing is this: I think the quote can apply to a whole lot more than just working out. When it comes to matters of our relationship with God, I find myself doing this whole mental doubt thing quite often. God promises forgiveness of sins, everlasting life, and never-changing love.

Yet how many times do we think “my sins are unforgivable,” “I am too bad for God to love me,” and “No way am I going to make it pass the test!”? These thoughts come from our own mental trickery! God isn’t the one saying any of these negative assertions. Again, God is the one promising forgiveness! “And be kind to one another, compassionate, forgiving one another as God has forgiven you in Christ.” (Ephesians 4:32) And guess what? Part of that is forgiving ourselves for our downfalls. If God is the fullness of perfection and He forgives us for everything, then shouldn’t we as imperfect be able to as well?!

Essentially, when it comes to our own faith and this quote, I feel like we need to stop getting in our own way. I sure have been a pro at being my own biggest problem in my relationship with God, and am working each day to essentially rid myself of me! Do you agree? Does this resonate? Let me know!

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to inspiration by Nike

  1. Maggie says:

    This is perfect. I love the shower workout idea. But I love the message more. Love you.

Leave a Reply

