Lesson #4

Lesson #4: Your job won’t take care of you when you are sick. Your friends and family will.
This one I don’t have a whole lot of wisdom on, because I am in college and thus do not have a solid job (no offense to Texas Roadhouse summer employment) but this one is true from what I can tell. Instead, I’m going to branch off of it and talk about investing in relationships.
I truly think that time with friends is time well-spent, even when you have other things to do. I know this makes me sound like the worst student ever, but if I have the choice between a legitimate life-chat with a friend, and working on a paper, I will choose the friend. The fact that people will be there for you is something everyone should keep in mind. I think about it like this: I will be graduating in May and not being able to have random conversations (in person at least) with 99.9% of the people that I currently see on a daily basis. So I’ll take my pick and lose a bit of sleep now in order to have conversations that I know will stay in my heart for years.
Family is the other “investiture” that I think is so incredibly important. I can lecture all day to you about how AMAZING my family is. I am so blessed. Sure, we are a bit crazy but it really is crazy with love for everyone and support that I cannot imagine going without. My brothers are two of the best friends I can ask for; protecting me and loving me through everything. My Dad and I share the passions of talking and writing and reading, and that draws us close – plus we can always share a laugh at Jim Gaffigan or Tommy Boy. And my Mom, bless her. I can’t put into words what she means to me. Best friend, confidante, hilarious partner-in-crime….my rock. I cannot even begin to imagine how difficult life would be without my people: my family and friends. They mean a hell of a lot more to me than any job I could ever think of. What about you?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesson #4

  1. Maggie says:

    Thank you for sacrificing your sleep. I agree that it was well worth it. Love you tons.

Leave a Reply

