Lesson #1

Lesson 1: Life isn’t fair, but it is still good.
Hurricanes. Disease. Natural disasters. Crime. Tragedies. Hate. Yes, there are horrible things in the world; I won’t deny that. But I will tell you, I agree with this wise lady. Life may not be fair to you, but at the end of the day, it is good.
We are lucky to be living and breathing and existing and appreciating and loving and being loved. Some days may be hard, and there may be seemingly insurmountable obstacles….but we were created for a reason – and we were created as the direct result of an incredibly impossible to understand love from the Creator of the world.
There have been times in my life where I have wanted to cry out to God and ask “Why me?!” because I am so frustrated at what had happened or was happening. But in those moments, what I should have been thinking is how blessed I really am. Yes, that may have been a rough patch or an unfair moment, but life is still so radically good.
Genesis 1 clarifies this for us, although we tend to brush past the creation stories without a second thought. Many have them almost memorized that we just roll through, thinking “yep okay there was nothing, just chaos – God created this and that and it was all good and he thought it was great and then he rested on the seventh day – whoopee.” But we should stop and realize the magnitude of this. God intended everything on the planet that He originally created to be good. This means that inherently, life is good. There are natural evils, like when tidal waves wipe out villages, or an earthquake strikes. But life, in and of itself, is blessed and good and we are lucky to be living it.
Perhaps you already agree with this. Maybe you already know that even after all the rain, when the storm has passed, that life is good. But maybe you needed to read this to remind yourself. I think I needed a reminder, so I know it was necessary for at least me to write. Maybe it struck a chord with you. I pray that you take the time today to appreciate the true “Good” that you see around you.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lesson #1

  1. Maggie says:

    You havea knack for perfect timing. I know where I see good. Love you, best friend.

Leave a Reply

