all I needed was a little bit of inspiration, I guess

It’s been far too long. Seriously, far too long. I’ve been away because I’ve been trying to figure out what I needed to say, what I should share with cyberspace and anyone who was willing to listen. I thought this would be the summer where I try to focus on figuring myself out and realizing what I wanted to do with my life. What I’ve come to realize, over the past two months, is that, corny as it may be, I just need to let life happen and ride the waves.

I had been looking forward to this summer as the time to “Do it all” because it almost seems as though this is my last chance summer. What I guess I need to focus on is that it’s just the calm before the storm of the end of college and “real life” starting. That’s exciting!! Something I used to be nervous and scared about is now something I look forward to.

I’ve given myself a lot of “ocean devotion” time, as I like to call it. It’s my time where I sit down near the water and just take it all in. It’s always been my place to think and figure things out, and this summer has proven to do it again. I am realizing, slowly but surely, that I am excited that I don’t know where I will be in a year. I only know a small list of what I will do in the time between. I know that I have one more full year of college, an experience that is flying by and is almost out of my grasp. To think that 75% of my college experience is already gone is mildly terrifying, but that’s beside the point. I know that I will attempt to squeeze all of the life out of my last year at Creighton as possible. I know that I’m planning on traveling to NYC and Chicago during my senior year, in thoughts that I should know what kind of places I like and don’t like before I enter the job force. I know that I have one more year with my Creighton women’s rowing ladies, another chapter that I don’t really want to end. And I have one more year with the group of wonderful peers at Creighton that I have become close with over the past three years.

I’ll be honest, I’ve gotten really introspective lately because I am a new addict of One Tree Hill, and have been watching it with vigor on Netflix whenever I get 42 minutes to spare. So perhaps this all started with Lucas Scott’s never-ending inspiring quotes to begin each show, but they really do make me think. I know OTH has become a quasi cult-classic, but still. The characters are real and face real problems, but the way they handle them make me think about what I would do and what struggles I have faced. More than anything, it makes me excited for this “last summer” and “last year.” My grandmother told me today, “oh honey, it’s anything but your last year!” And the fact that I’ve been listening to Kate Voegele’s “Lift Me Up” on repeat probably adds to it. Great song, by the way.

I guess the whole point to this post was to say that I’ve been staying away from writing because so many people have told me that my blog is so wise, and I’ve been trying to provide that. But what I’ve realized is that I really have no right to be giving wisdom, rather if I share words and lessons from my journey, that is all I can do, and that is good enough.

Travel with me, will you please?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to all I needed was a little bit of inspiration, I guess

  1. Maggie says:

    I needed this. So. Much. Still wise. Still Beautifully, perfectly wise and enthralling. I love you.

Leave a Reply

