as we go on, we remember all the times we had together #jrm327

“So we think about tomorrow like we think about now, can we survive it out there, can we make it somehow?” How in the WORLD are we going to survive without Social Media class, #JRM327, with Carol Zuegner?!

Yes, perhaps I just wanted to quote Vitamin C’s graduation classic, but really, we did have a good semester. We explored different social media tools that I had never used before, and did it all with the helpful guide of Carol.

The sun is setting at 2500 California Plaza for the academic year, and it was a great one.

I look back on the semester and there were definitely things that I appreciate learning. I had no experience on LinkedIn, something that I am sure I will need to have a basic knowledge of in the “real world.” Google+ was its own interesting day in class – from Josh becoming a cat on his webcam, to not being able to “hangout” the way we wanted to, there are definitely a lot of memories made in #JRM327.

Oh, and speaking of the hashtags – I’ll never forget all of the days when kids in the class would see a tweet with the #JRM327 hashtag and realize they hadn’t done any of their ten tweets. Suddenly our feeds would be flooded with 60 tweets and retweets of the same information. But in reality, there were some awesome things I learned from links that my peers provided. And of course, Carol’s tweets were pretty legendary.

If you want me to have really answered Carol’s reflection prompt, I’ll do that:
What did I like? – I love (and credit) my new obsession with Twitter. Thanks Carol 🙂 I also thought that learning about the social mention scoring was really neat. I honestly had no idea about metrics, and that was super cool. (See “What has changed about my attitude about social media?”)

What didn’t I like? – Google+. With a passion, I hate that social media tool. It’s a wannabe Facebook, I could regret saying this later, but I don’t think it’s ever going to make it.

What did you learn? – I learned that unless I can magically transform into a Creighton Men’s Basketball player, Darryl Ashford will always have more followers than me. Always.

What has changed about my attitude about social media? – I really never understood how much of an impact social media can have. That was news to me for sure. I always thought it was going to be restricted as a means of communication for essentially no reasons, but the incorporation of social media into business strategy pretty much rocked my world. I thought it was cool to see that come alive in the metrics. To see my Klout score increase over the semester was a sense of odd pride for me.

What I think was the most valuable lesson over the semester? – I think the lesson that will stick with me the longest is the “What’s your sentence?” project. I will use the knowledge I gained from the Twitter and other tools for the rest of my professional career, but the writing of the sentence was viewpoint-shifting. It made me think, and think about more than just completing an assignment. I truly appreciate what I have gained from this class, especially the self-reflection involved. Not to mention the blogging requirements; I absolutely love the fact that I was encouraged/required to blog, because it increased my following, increased my writing abilities, and became a point of dedication for me.

So here’s a toast, to all those who hear me all too well (Carol!) And thanks for a great semester.

20120430-003320.jpg

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

