“all you have to do is not die for 365 days!”

I am obsessed with this video. You must watch it. Then read what I have to say. 🙂

Okay. If your mind is not absolutely blown, (and if you are a hopeless romantic like me, you are probably saying “awwwwww”) then I think you need to watch it again. Drew Dudley completely rocked my world with what he had to say, and all I can say after it is “AMEN!”

Now, to talk more realistically about it though. Were you one of the people saying that they had told the person who made a difference in their life? Have YOU been told? It makes you think, doesn’t it?

The concept that Dudley presents, saying that “we treat leadership as if it’s something that one day we are going to deserve,” yet don’t currently recognize in ourselves. Why is this? Like he said, I think we are too afraid to let ourselves believe that we can make a difference. We don’t want to come off as bragging, or self-righteous. But there are things that we do every day that are worthy of praise, or at least of recognition. Like I said in my previous post about my dear friend Katie Tuohy, there is no reason to wait to tell someone how much they mean to you. So in the same way, why do we not thank someone for the “lollipop moments” that they give to us?

Leadership has become so commonplace, yet also so taboo in a way. We all strive to be a leader, officially, but when we start to feel like one, we become these humble beings and let others lead. Humility is obviously a good thing, and a necessary thing. But really, there comes a time when it is fair to say that people look to you for advice and that your existence on this earth matters, and matters greatly.

What did you think of this video? Did it make you wonder if you should tell people how much they mean to you? If you want to know my “lollipop” story, look back and find my post about Ray.

Do you have one? Fill me in!

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

