traditional news sources out the window

The Pew Research Center recently released its report on news ingestion for the average American. What news organizations are we actually paying attention to?? This report intrigued me and since I am sitting in the student center as I write this, I did a mini survey. I asked people straight up “Where do you hear your news from?” I didn’t want to suggest answers, rather, I just wanted to see what people’s first reactions were. Here are my results:

– 14 people said that they get their news from Twitter
~ 7 of these said CNN was the main Twitter account that they receive news from
~ 5 of these said Huffington Post was the primary account
~ 2 of these said USA Today was the primary account

– 6 people said that they look at Yahoo News Homepage
– 3 people said that they look at Facebook news feed to see what articles people are reading, and then read those headline stories for their news

I’ll be honest, I think it’s pretty sad. The fact that our technology causes us to read news in a whole new way is not a bad thing in itself, but it does point to a larger issue. If we get to the point where we are relying on our Facebook news feed to read world news, we are going to be in big trouble.

I personally use Twitter now (as a result of this class; I completely blame #JRM327) as my primary source for news. I follow the Huffington Post, NBC News, USA Today, CNN, and also personal Twitter accounts of different popular news anchors. All of these sources contribute to the slew of news that bombards my feed. One of the ones I read the most is the Daily Beast, as well as Pete Cashmore.

I think that at this point, major news organizations recognize the necessity to employ social media strategies in order to have success. To keep their heads above water in this crazy storm of new technology, social media efforts are completely necessary.

As the article read, “social media, nevertheless, have become a part of the digital fabric and many news leaders recognize it as an increasingly critical tool in gaining new digital readers and building a loyal, highly engaged audience.”

This is completely true, and something that is undeniable. But are there problems with this? Are we losing the art of journalism with the influx of digitally digested news? Some say yes. I say that as long as the news is being read, its worth doing.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

