Omaha Zoo – an adventure just down the road!

Today marked my maiden down 10th Street to Omaha’s Henry Doorly Zoo (and Aquarium!) Needless to say for those who have visited before, it is absolutely awesome. I had never been, which is pretty shocking seeing that I have lived in Omaha now for three years. But yeah, since my brother and his girlfriend were visiting, it was definitely on the “must-do” list before they headed back to Connecticut.

Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t as nice today as it has been the past three weeks…the temp is around 58-60 and there was a good midwestern wind to welcome the East Coast natives, but it was fun nonetheless.

The new penguin enclosure at the aquarium was probably where we spent the most time, that is besides the act of navigating the massive acreage that the zoo owns. Perhaps it is because the penguins are getting used to their new environment (the aquarium just opened!), but there were super active today. Standing right underneath the snow-making machine, playing king of the rock, slipping and sliding down the rock face into the water and chasing eachother — it was all so fun to watch! I think it was a fun day for all of us – for those of you who are Facebook friends, be on the lookout for an album with more pictures!

20120407-181607.jpg

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Omaha Zoo – an adventure just down the road!

  1. This is my absolute favorite exhibit at the zoo. I haven’t seen the new one, but I LOVE PENGUINS aka it’s on my “to do” list right when we get back. Hope you guys have a great time together!

Leave a Reply

