there are people in this life who come and go (but these ones are here to stay)

So here’s my new plan/philosophy of living. Well that statement was bold and vague… I guess it’s not all new, because I have definitely been doing it for a while without really noticing. I am a person who, when I love someone, I let them know it. If someone made my day, I tell them. If someone looks snazzy, I say it. I’ve always been like that, and it’s just a part of my straightforward personality. Until recently, I had just viewed it as the way I interact; I never thought of it as anything significant. But after speaking with a dear friend (ahem, Amber Schaffer) I have realized the holiness behind affirmation in a new way. Why NOT tell someone what they mean to you? Why NOT be real and true and honest when there are things that are great in life? I feel like there is no reason to hold back when you can make a positive change in someone’s day, just by telling them how you feel.

Now, to more recently (as in last week)…I have been having some days where I randomly am thinking about a person and how amazing it is that they are in my life. Like, how many things had to line up completely perfectly for me to be able to meet this person, and form a friendship with them? What instant was it precisely, that without being there, this person would simply not be a name that I would recognize as a dear friend? Radical, right? So I have begun to think that perhaps, these names that come into my head are there for a reason. Maybe I should use this impart of God’s wisdom to show my love to these people!

And here begins my new series. I am planning on starting to write about people that mean a lot to me, and why God shines through them. When trying to figure out how, in my busy schedule, I can attempt to minister to friends and blog followers, this was the best way: I will share stories about people who have made a difference in my life, and hopefully by reading the stories, your heart will be touched. Here goes!

For my first day, I will start with none other than Katie Tuohy. Not only is she one of the most beautiful girls that I’ve ever met, but her heart shines and her smile is contagious. I met Katie for the first time at Candlelight Mass on Creighton’s campus. It was freshman year, and we knew of each other through mutual friends but we hadn’t met yet. I awkwardly went up and introduced myself; I had come to mass alone and she was sitting by herself as well. So basically, we were loners (haha) who ran into each other’s lives at the right time. Now, I count Katie among one of my closest friends. I can picture us after college, going our separate ways, yet keeping in touch and having weekend trips to see each other. But as for the “right now,” she is one of those girls that I just love running in to on campus.

When she was away in Italy this past fall, I legitimately felt an absence. I know she is going to read this and say “oh my goodness Christina, stop it!” But seriously. Her genuine humility and lack of awareness of how awesome she really is, is probably part of what makes her so amazing. I truly believe that Katie does not, will not, and can not understand how much she touches the lives of people she meets. Katie has shown me how much a smile and a hug can make my day. So the day that I began to think of her randomly, I sent her the following text: “Today, I celebrate you. I just want you to know, KT2E, that God has put you in my heart today and I am gracious for that! I love you dearly, thank you for being in my life and adding so much beauty to it!”

And her response warmed my heart, in typical KT2E (Kay-tee-two-ey) style: “Christina! ohh my! what a greeting when I opened my phone…I think I actually felt a tear. thank you for your kind words and love. I, too, feel such a connection with you and blessed to have it. You’re great and always will be. Here is to you, my dear!”

Basically, I want to take this time to dedicate an hour of my time writing, and ten minutes of your time reading, to understand how wonderful of a blessing Katie Tuohy is. If you go to Creighton, you probably know her as the beautiful girl who always is wearing a cute outfit and a smile as big as the sky, sparkling eyes and a permeating laugh. If you haven’t met her, then I challenge you to think of who my description of Katie reminds you of in your own life. Take a second to appreciate them, to love them, and to tell them how much their presence means to you. Can I get an Amen?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to there are people in this life who come and go (but these ones are here to stay)

  1. Maggie says:

    Love this!! AMEN!!

  2. Sydney says:

    Absolutely precious. Love it & you!

Leave a Reply

