stream of consciousness: Jesus style (again)

[Setting the scene for you: I was sitting in church tonight, and this is what I scribbled on a notepad. This is verbatim, no editing made. I didn’t omit anything; I’m laying it all out for you. Enjoy?]

Woah. I sit here in Your magnificent presence, and I am trying to start somewhere – but where? My sins, my failures, my mistakes? My wants, my needs, my downfalls? No. I think I should just start with You. And end with You. And whatever happens in between is up to you. I like how that sounds.

Lord, you gotta lead me with strong hands, but know that I’m trying, lead me with a forgiving heart, but know that I’m loving, and love me with an everlasting kindness, but know that I don’t deserve it. Lord, please make me more awake and alive to You. Show me the real me – the side of me that You see. I want the true mirror and the real reflection – because what You are to me is all that matters now and all that ever will.

I’ve had my doubts – I’ve had my mistakes and sins. I’ve had my hard times and my lost opportunities to love You. Please, please, please, make me aware of a greater longing for You, and make Your presence known to me. I’ve been blinded by the things of the world and the things I let myself focus on. Shed those, tear those, burn those, destroy those. Focus me on You alone, and make me one with You. I turn to You.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to stream of consciousness: Jesus style (again)

  1. dakotahbraun says:

    I love this.

Leave a Reply

