Thanksgiving in March

It’s been a while folks, I’m sorry. The Wi-Fi was less than awesome at our hotels over the break and so I’m just now catching up. But for tonight, I’ll focus on Thanksgiving in March. There will be more to add later and I’ll try to make up for the days that I missed.

Today I was able to reflect on the parts of my life that are sometimes so commonplace. I often forget the things that I should be thanking God for every day, and so today, I tried to focus on them. Every time the weather in Omaha is super nice like it was today, people on campus seem happier. The sun is shining and the birds are chirping, and – yep, that’s it with the nature descriptions. But really, it was nice. So I started to think about the things that I take for granted, and how much I really should acknowledge those things.

Here’s my mini-list:

– the ability to wake up each day and not worry about my health

– to be a part of a team of supportive and strong women

– to have 2 awesome roommates, who are with me through thick and thin

– the money to buy food and drinks to sustain myself

– the simple fact that I am getting an education

– good conversation with quality friends

 

Those are just a few things that came to mind through my day today. Especially the getting an education thing – it was crazy. I was sitting in theology class, simply contemplating how significant it is that I am here. I am able to be receiving higher education when so many people in this world can’t even access clean water. And so for my Thanksgiving focus (in March), I am going to try to make a change with that. Not make this an empty education, I want to apply it more, absorb it more, and appreciate it more. I want to understand how lucky and blessed I am to be here, on this campus, with the resources that we all have, and learn the significance of it all. Make a positive change with the lessons we learn, apply what we know to the problems of our world.

Maybe this is too much thought for 12:56 a.m., but I think it’s one of those things that should be thought about every once in a while. If you were to step back and look at the things around you, what blessings do you overlook on a regular basis?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thanksgiving in March

  1. Thanksgiving in March 🙂 Love it and love you! Another fantastic post my dear!

Leave a Reply

