Austin, laughter, MVC, and sunshine.

Can I just say I love Austin, Texas? I do. Completing my first day of spring break 2012 in Austin was a HUGE success. After a beautiful mass at St. Ignatius Church, the team headed to Lady Bird Lake to get our boats rigged in the beautiful sunshine. The taste of excitement to get back on the water was looming, and we were all so nervously excited for our men’s basketball team at the MVC final. (GO JAYS!)

So when Coach told us we would be getting to go to a sports bar for lunch to watch the entire game, we were all more than pumped. Let’s be real though – we essentially took over the bar. I think they were more than a bit shocked when we called to ask “Hello, yes, we were wondering if you had room to accomodate 39, and we would like to watch CBS? Thanks!”

So, skip ahead past a LOUD and crazy, nervous, yet awesome lunch and viewing party, and we hit the water – FINALLY. It is the most amazing feeling (any rower will agree) when you can get back on the water after being stuck on an erg every day all winter. Ahh.

All I kept thinking in my head was “and it’s a great day to be alive, I know the sun’s still shining when I close my eyes,” and that was enough for me.

Dinnertime came soon after showers back at the hotel, and we were off. I was so glad to get to spend some quality time with five of the lovely freshman on the team: Christine, Kealy, Theresa, Meghan, and Grace. I thoroughly enjoyed our swanky dinner at Macaroni Grill.

I just got back to my hotel room after hanging out with my beautiful dinner dates (plus a few other girls!) in their room. I had so much fun laughing and spending time with them. And I didn’t know exactly what I wanted to share tonight. But here’s what I’ve learned today, and here’s what I’ll say.

I have learned the influence of people in your life is so tremendous. I literally had the BEST day today, and it is all due to the people who I was surrounded by. I couldn’t have asked for a better group of girls to survive erg season with, I couldn’t have asked for better teammates, and I am so blessed to call all of these girls my friends. I love and respect my coaches, and it becomes more and more clear to me every day how much they care and how dedicated they are to us. And I guess, along the way, I’m realizing a lot about myself. I’m realizing the significance of each event in life and God’s intentionality. I’m thinking about the meaning behind each step in life He brings me to. And, more than anything, I’m excited for, and so blessed, to have tomorrow to look forward to.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

