We all need saving, sometimes

Today, I had one of those “Aha!” moments for what I was going to write about and share with you today. I was listening to my iPhone on shuffle because I feel as though many times, the “perfect” song comes on; the song that you really just needed to hear to lift your mood, or to creepily tell you exactly how you’re feeling.

For me, for today, and hopefully for you, this song was “We All Need Saving” by Jon McLaughlin. It is a beautiful, raw song about the need that humans have to be in company with others. Reinforcement, support, and aid are necessary parts of life; things that we should never feel ashamed to want or need.

The song chorus goes like this:

“When the cloud in the sky starts to pour
And your life is just a storm you’re braving
Don’t tell yourself you can’t lean on someone else
Cause we all need saving sometimes.”

I think that this is a beautiful lesson, and one that we are not always ready to accept. We are taught to be strong, to handle ourselves professionally. We are told at a young age to be strong and fight back tears; “be a big boy,” or “don’t be like a baby girl!” But sometimes, we really need to realize and acknowledge our humanity. We are not perfect. We are strong, yes; but we are not able to do it all by ourselves and should accept this.

Now for me, I hear this song as a beautiful form of worship – that the lyrics “You make me what I’m worth” directly relate to God’s love for me. But I don’t want to tell you what you should think about this. For you, this song could remind you of a friend who has helped you, or “saved you” in a time when you were low – or maybe you were that friend to somebody.

Whatever the interpretation, whatever the impact, and whatever the meaning is in your life, let that be. Words were meant to ring true for you, no matter how different they might mean to you in comparison to me.

My point overall? Let yourself be saved. In the days where you are trying so hard to be strong, remember that as much as strength lies within, strength also exists in being able to ask for help. There are people who love you, who care for you, and who genuinely want you to “please believe that someone else has felt this before.”

And just to throw it in there, here's a picture of Jon McLaughlin, myself, and his wife Amy (from Sep. 2007)

 

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We all need saving, sometimes

  1. Haley says:

    I also think that some how the perfect song for the moment will come on. Great post and inspiration! ❤

  2. Dorothy Ashley says:

    wow,i actually didnt knw Jon or this song till Iwatched the movie “A thousand words” wow, I cried cz i felt like it was directed to me… Broke up wit my BF n talk to no one…Its hard… I cry each time i hear this song,its on repeat each day..

Leave a Reply

