Lighting up the night

Candles make my whole mood brighter. I don’t know why I don’t have them lit more often, because it absolutely makes my apartment feel like a “legit” home. Anyways, I’m going to go all metaphorical on you and use the candle as more than just a source of warmth and light.

Most people have heard the “Carry Your Candle” worship song, and if you haven’t, the premise is that God has given us love and light, and if we accept this into our lives, then we can spread it around to those in need. The chorus sings “so carry your candle, run to the darkness; take your candle and go light your world.” Perhaps my favorite verse in the song is the following:

“We are a family whose hearts are blazing
So let’s raise our candles and light up the sky
Praying to our Father, in the name of Jesus
Make us a beacon in darkest times.”

Now, to make sense of this. This song can suggest many things, namely the love of God in our lives and the ability to make positives out of negatives. During this Lenten season, one of my faith-related goals is to use my love of God and passion for Christ to embrace others. Not in a super evangelical and pushy way, but rather in the sense that I want people to see how I act and wonder “what makes her different?” …I want people to see that love of God coming through me because of my actions.

I believe that I can do this in one very prominent way. I think that making time to spend with people shows so much. When there is a friend in need and you can make them feel as though they are the ONLY thing that you have to worry about that day, then I feel as though it is an act of God. Everybody knows that we are all busy, no one really has a ton of free time. And as much as you want to be a good friend and stay up late with someone who needs you, sleep is calling your name – or maybe it’s that paper that is due at 8am. Regardless, I am making it a priority to make others a priority. How’s that for redundancy? 🙂 This way of “carrying my candle” to “light my world” is a way of shining the love of Christ for more than just myself. I think this quote sums it up perfectly: Respect the people who find time for you in their busy schedule. But love the people who never look at their schedule when you need them.

There is a lot of noise around us. More than just noise that you can hear – but distractions. I’ve talked about it before, and I’ll relate it to this as well. We get caught up in our busy schedules that often, even prioritizing the important things in our lives is pushed to the wayside. But being able to act as though you don’t have a schedule, or a To-Do List as long as your arm, is something that will mean the world to the person who needs you. To be able to turn your iPhone on silent and ignore it, to not talk about yourself or your problems, and to just focus on the person at hand – is a quality that will not only make you stronger, but may be the remedy that your friend needs.

So that is my little Godly message of the day. Make time for others because God made time for you. He made us to help each other and to replicate His love to the best of our ability. He created candles for us to carry them. So carry your candle, go light your world, and then tell me how it goes. God Bless.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

