I wanted chicken.

So as much as my Lent so far is going really well, I won’t pretend that it’s easy. So here is my honest account of going to the Cheesecake Factory tonight for a friend’s birthday.

In case you were going to lose sleep tonight if you didn’t hear this, the following is what went through my head. AKA, this is my stream of consciousness when I realized that it was Friday and I couldn’t order my favorite meal: Spicy Chicken Chipotle Pasta.

– me, in my head: “OK so I just remembered that it’s Friday so I can’t really get the chicken pasta. But I really want it.”

– interruption from the waitress, “Are you all ready to order?”

– my face: clearly not ready….

– waitress: “…Okay I’ll give you a few more minutes.”

– me, in my head: “Ah now I only have a few more minutes and I don’t want to get something with only veggies, and I don’t know. Maybe I can eat chicken tonight and fast on Saturday, that’s okay, right?!”

– waitress: “Are you all ready?”

– me, in my head: “No! I haven’t decided on whether or not my Catholic guilt will win in this or not!”

– me, out loud (finally) – “I’ll get the Factory Chopped Salad. Thanks.”

Yep, that was going through my head. Please tell me I’m not the only one who has had this trouble. Because golly, it was not easy. I hate to be picky, but as much as fish or seafood is a totally acceptable substitute, I don’t eat seafood out in Nebraska. Yes, I’m a picky Mainer who won’t eat landlocked seafood, but that’s just the way it is.

The point of all of this? To emphasize the meaning of it. For a long time, I hadn’t really ever been truly challenged by the Friday no-meat thing in Lent. So in a twisted way, I was happy for it. I think that although the ordering process was stressful and I nearly broke the rules, I was happy when I decided on a salad and was able to feel okay about myself.

I guess my lesson is a bit convoluted today. I basically am admitting that I almost willingly ate meat and broke the code of sacrificing meat, but was able to decide on something else. Now I can sleep well tonight. Again, please tell me I’m not alone in this…

anyone? 🙂

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I wanted chicken.

  1. Maggie says:

    I love you and am proud of you for not eating meat!

  2. Girlfran, we are in the same boat. It’s hard not to break Lenten promises and traditions. As the pastor said at Sacred Heart last Sunday, by not ordering meat or by fasting, you’re saying, “God, you mean more to me than this hunger pain that I am feeling.” And last I checked, your priorities were in line with believing that God is more important than a clucking chicken. 🙂

  3. Chris says:

    I LOVE THIS! i am proud that you didnt give in! and didnt eat dessert either! thanks for coming out for my birthday!!

Leave a Reply

