Remember you are dust, and to dust you shall return.

Happy Ash Wednesday! I’ll say this before it turns midnight. I hope that you all had a peaceful day in preparation for Lent, though I am confident that many of you were beginning the struggle of Lenten observances on Day 1. Only 39 more, am I right?! Yeah. It will be hard. But this is what I think about it.

The things that I have been most proud of in my life are the things that I either thought I could not do, or the things that challenged me the most emotionally. Looking back at how I felt in the midst of them, I wasn’t very happy, and I felt as though I would never get out of the rut. But looking back on those times, they are the accomplishments.

Today was a beautiful day in Omaha, marked with warmer temperatures and bright sun all day.

Students and faculty alike walked proudly on campus marked with a sign of faith, and Lent was in the air. The most common question asked was “What are you giving up?” and people were already overheard saying “Don’t eat chocolate around me!” or “No! I’m not drinking soda!” Tweets were coming in saying “#goodbye” for the time being, and Facebook statuses were announcing the time of absence to come. Gosh, I love going to a Catholic school.

For me, Ash Wednesday proved to be a busy day, but one that started off in the best way: going to mass with my Coach, my teammates, one of my dearest friends, and many other members of the Creighton community. I am so blessed to be a part of such a lively community.

My wish for you this Lenten season is that you can find out something new about yourself. I pray that God may reveal to you another beautiful aspect of YOU – His creation. Make this Lenten season one of devotion, prayer, and developing of relationships; rather than suffering and depression. Good luck in your Lenten adventure, remember the Lord and His goodness, and be strong in the faith. And keep me updated! God is good? All the time.

 

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

