SM4G and for all

Social Media 4 Good was a really neat event, so kudos definitely go to Amanda, Kelly, and Carol for planning all of it!

Though I wasn’t able to stay there for the entire time, I really enjoyed listening to Brittany Mascio speak on behalf of Silicon Prairie News. Not only was she entertaining as usual, she kind of lit a Twitter fire in me, which has been burning brightly ever since. I almost need to apologize to those of my followers who are not only confused, but also bombarded by the #jrm327 hashtag. (It’s all Carol’s fault!)

Needless to say, the event was geared to have various industry professionals learn about the pros and cons of using social media; particularly how to employ it in a new and creative way to your business model.

Social Media 4 Good was a neat idea of an event to host, and was more beneficial than I expected it to be. I didn’t think that I really needed to learn that much more about twitter, but Mascio continually made the point that having an event be live-casted on Twitter is a really good tactic to encourage followers. She particularly talked about her upcoming event, Big Omaha, hosted by Silicon Prairie News, and how Twitter is going to (and already is) being used to ensure the success of this night. This was a new and exciting way to employ Twitter. I think that it will be very helpful in my internship this summer. As I will be working for communications for the Make-A-Wish Foundation of Maine, many live events will be taking place. If I can generate a solid list of followers and then keep up with the live-casting, Twitter will become an invaluable tool.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

