No need to even watch the Grammy Awards

It’s probably not fair to say that social media has changed the way I watch the Grammy Awards, because even before Twitter, I wasn’t watching them. But I will admit that I knew exactly what was going on, alll because of my Twitter feed. Even though I never turned the TV on, I heard the bashing of Chris Brown and the reminders of his past domestic violence issues, the sweep of Adele, and the tribute to Whitney Houston. Oh, and not to mention the incredulous tweets about Nicki Minaj’s…unique performance.

It’s impressive how much social media carries out the events of the world, to a point where one really doesn’t need to be watching from the original source. I first shied away from this power, but now I have come to embrace the fact that Twitter will keep me posted about my friends, news stations, and awards shows – all in one source.

Christina Warren from mashable.com wrote about this topic as well; particularly how the public is viewing particular celebrities and events and how those opinions are continually changing. Her article teaches about this changing trend in the way that we consume popular media.

Do you still watch the news and other events? Or is following them enough for  you?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

