I’m a convert – to yoga that is

Downward dog is not a pose that I would have said would sound fun. And chaturanga sounds painful. I have learned that downward dog is not necessarily fun, and chaturanga is definitely not enjoyable, but I am a yoga convert.

Being a rower, yoga has never really crossed my mind as anything worthwhile. I wrongly assumed that it was not really a “good workout,” but rather a breathing style that made you feel whole, and “connected to the Sun.”

I’m embarrassed to admit how much I judged yoga enthusiasts and their activity. But now,  I can honestly say that yoga is one of the most refreshing, rehabilitating, relaxing (and surprisingly difficult!) workout that I have ever had. Not only that, but I am now obsessed with the feeling I get after a session.

The Creighton Athletic Department hired a yoga teacher named Lara from a local Omaha studio, and she comes in twice a week to lead a group of student-athletes through an hour of vinyasa (flow) yoga. The athletic department staff know that yoga has proven to reduce the risk of injury, and is therefore a sensible idea to have yoga classes offered for athletes.

I have found that not only does yoga help me with flexibility and strength, but it makes my whole body feel stronger and more wholesome. My yoga classes are teaching me to breathe better, which has already made a difference in my rowing workouts, and the inner peace I feel after a yoga session is just as restful as a nap, and that’s saying something for me!

Have you tried yoga? What type? Comment and let me know if you feel the same way!

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m a convert – to yoga that is

  1. David says:

    So happy you’ve taken up yoga, Christina. As a yoga teacher I know from the experience of my students that yoga is an excellent form of cross training. Also – Greetings from a fellow Mainer! We live in Brunswick.

Leave a Reply

