life is only as good as the memories we make.

You’ve heard it before that money doesn’t buy happiness, that a successful career doesn’t fulfill your life, and that being famous doesn’t mean that you are liked by everyone. Perhaps it is one of those life lessons that we all know is true, but we choose to be ignorant in hopes that maybe we will be the one person to prove it wrong – to accomplish that mighty feat. That’s my hypothesis at least. I think there are thousands – probably even millions – of people who are going through their lives in hopes finding fulfillment and happiness, yet going about it in a way that is superficial and hollow.

 A life is not defined by the amount in the bank, the car in the driveway, the shirt on your back, or the salary you make. What really counts are the moments that you’ll remember forever – the small pieces of filmreel in your head that no matter what you do, you’ll always have in a safe enclosed in your heart. Everyone has them, and the question is whether or not you live your life being energized and fueled by those tidbits of glory and happiness – or if you compartmentalize them away in hopes of greater material successes.

I read a Matt & Kim song lyric that said “no time for cameras; we’ll use our eyes instead,” and I think that it applies. I often note when hanging out with friends that we don’t take enough pictures when we all hang out, especially friends from home. What I have come to realize is that the time I spend with these friends whom I hold so close to my heart, does not need to be documented in pictures because I cherish the moments enough that I simply don’t forget them. What does a picture taken with friends do, besides prove to your 329472 friends on facebook that you have a social life? Now don’t get me wrong, I love to have photos with friends to put in frames and hang in my apartment, but I think 99% of the time, most people are seeking out a notification from FB that you have been tagged in an album. Sorry for that diversion, but really. The moments that really mean a lot to us are the ones that we cherish and which fulfill our lives without any label. They aren’t huge deal memories – no lottery tickets, no pay raises, no fame and fortune, but just a little event that marked a great time in the life of a human. A time that when triggered, will bring back epic and happy memories of a simple spark of human happiness that was 100% natural. That is bliss.

So my point is…. We must enjoy the little moments in life, the tidbits of disguised blessings, especially because the memories that seem insignificant in livetime are the most cherished when you rewind your heart.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

