technology astounds me.

First we have the smart phones. Ok. I can handle them. Then we have the little hand held computer devices – iPads and then the new Blackberry version that can run Java…But here we are, finding ourselves in a whole new wave of applications, where Apple’s claim really does come true: “There’s an app for that.” I can’t even imagine the total number of applications that have been downloaded at this point, but I’m sure it would shock me. There are two that I recently discovered, one via good “old fashioned television,” and the other through my favorite, stumbleupon.

So on TV, I saw the ad for ADT security systems. I’ve always seen the commercials that show the everlasting line of numbers scrolling around houses and driveways and the overly happy agent assuring the viewer that someone is watching your house at all times, with fire and burglary alarms. But now, ADT puts the control into your own hands. All with the help of a smartphone, you can control the power and security of your home security system. You can choose to turn it on and off whever you please, and you can watch your home’s security cameras by tapping into them on your phone. I personally, think this is bonkers. Yes, a good version of bonkers, but bonkers nonetheless. I understand and fully admit my slow advances into technology – I am one of the few young adults in America that would rather have a phone that doesn’t do everything. I enjoy not needing to stress about my e-mail at all hours of the day – only when I check my computer, where e-mail belongs. I think that I’m quite lame in comparison to a lot of other young people because I like the separation. I use my camera to take pictures, my phone to call and text, my computer for facebook, e-mail, blogging, and other web surfing. This is just what makes sense to me. I know, I live under a rock. But I love it.

The second technological advancement that simply blows my mind is the new Pilot Handwriting Beta. I stumbled upon this and it’s actually pretty freaking sweet. This is one tech-savvy thing that I might actually try. I’ll post the video so you can see for yourself, but basically, you print out a template of boxes. In each box, you write the letter or number that is in the top corner, in the way you would like it to look, and then when complete, you hold it up to your webcam and it scans in everything you have entered. You can then edit them, bold or thin them, and then you can save it as a font. And then, how sweet is this!? You can use your own handwriting as your font. I think this is SWEET. We’ll see how it works. 🙂

So that’s my tech update from master tech-person…..not. Anyways, enjoy the Federer/Nadal match if you’re on your toes like me right now, and Happy Sunday.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

