religious bar owner…?

When I was stumbling, yet again, I know…I found a great article about a Texas bar owner who is suing the local church after lightning struck the building, burning it to the ground. So why is the church being sued? Because they were protesting the new addition to the bar, and the bar owner believes that “the church was ultimately responsible for the demise of his building, either through direct or indirect actions or means.”

Of course, the church took a defensive stance, and “vehemently denied all responsibility or any connection to the building’s demise in its reply to the court.”

The judge was perplexed, with good reason. This goes up there on the list of court cases that are basically impossible, people suing God, or people who are already dead. Nonetheless, the case goes on…

And what does the judge say? ‘I don’t know how I’m going to decide this, but as it appears from the paperwork, we have a bar owner who believes in the power of prayer, and an entire church congregation that does not.’

I loved this. It made me look into it deeper, and though I ended up finding the story on snopes.com (essentially informing me that it was bogus) I still think that people can derive meaning from it. It makes you think. How many times do you deny your faith in order to have something make sense, or to save your own rear? I think it happens more often than most of us want to admit. What do you think?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

