orange peels

I was really not too happy last night. I had never really thought twice about an orange peel until I was walking downstairs in my hall from floor 7 to floor 4 and I saw a crumb trail of orange peel. It really rubbed me the wrong way that the mysterious orange-consumer felt the need to ditch the rejected pieces of peel and drop them as they went up or down the stairs. But this calls at a bigger problem.

Entitlement. Though I absolutely love Creighton, there seems to be a sense of entitlement here among some students. The idea that “I can drop an orange peel all over my hall – I pay to live here!” or “They come and clean up every day, it’s their job.” But this is a toxic state of mind, for where do we draw the line?

It totally irks me at the lack of respect and concern for fellow human beings that many people exude. Not that it would really help, but I really just want to “smack them silly” as my Grandma would say.

I realize fully that I’m on a self-righteous soapbox because I am simply pointing fingers, but when I see stuff like that, it just makes me disappointed in society. I believe that we all are young adults who should be able to handle ourselves like real people, wear our big kid underwear, and clean up after ourselves.

There has been more than the one “orange peel” kind of instance, but this was clearly the straw that broke Christina’s back. I’m sure all of you reading this blog are awesome and would pick up the orange peel like I did, but yeah, let’s hope there is no more orange peel crap in the stairs.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

