twists of fate

Do you believe in fate? I don’t mean the lovey-dovey “there’s one person out there for me!” kind of belief system, but more just in the common day to day opportunities for fate to step in.

I read a quote that said “We create our fate every day we live.” I believe this quote to be quite true. Doesn’t it make sense that the God of the universe intercedes in our daily lives by putting us where He wants us to be? The best imagery I have is that of a pinball machine. I am the little pinball that is being shot around and is trying to maneuver her way through the twists and turns of life, occasionally hitting into walls or other obstacles, or even getting stuck around a corner. I don’t know where I will end up, because the ball can bounce back even after something bad has happened, and there are many paths to get to the “finish” — there is no right or wrong way, right? It is the most accurate way of describing fate that I can come up with now: that each little bump is destined to happen; each time you (the ball) gets stuck in a crevice or around a tight corner, it is yet another chance for you to show strength. Eleanor Roosevelt once said “You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.” This “fear” that Roosevelt refers to can be any event of your life – it doesn’t necessarily have to actually be scary — but anything new. Each event in one’s life is the opportunity to change fate.

Fate is for those too weak to control their own destiny, in the eyes of some people. Rather, I would change this to say that fate is for everybody; and it is in creating our lives the way in which we intend that they should go that we really come to participate in the creation of fate. I strongly believe that we are all here for a reason, but I don’t think that it is necessarily pre-determined by God. He is most certainly in control of it – but I think that the way He makes His judgments on what we should do on this Earth depend entirely on how we handle situations. 

So live your life, create your own fate. Be that pinball who bumps it’s way through the machine – gracefully, even when it gets tough.

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I now live in Chicago and work with extraordinary nonprofit organizations to help them champion their individual causes. My heart is in the 207, and my feet are on the ground in the 312. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

