For the love of the dogs (and cats, and tarantulas, and alligators, and horses)….

The Nebraska Humane Society does not discriminate. Let’s say it that way. When our #JRM327 class went to visit and speak with Creighton alumni Elizabeth Hilpipre, I learned a lot. Here are the main things:

1) I want a puppy.

2) I love puppies.

3) I want a puppy.

4) The ways in which the Nebraska Humane Society use social media to continue their mission and show their love of animals to all of their supporters.

To remain serious, I’ll discuss my #4, though 1-3 are completely true as well :)

Elizabeth explained to us how her numbers of adoptions have increased dramatically since she started using social media to promote the shelter. What makes things really difficult is that there are so many pets that need loving families, certain ones are left by the wayside. So Elizabeth’s way of promoting the pets with videos and pictures increases the chance that the perfect family will discover them!

I was really impressed with her dedication to her job, devoting hours even when she isn’t on the clock to helping pets find homes. She said that even on her vacation, she did 3-4 hours of work per day on her phone, updating and checking Facebook and Twitter, as well as posting on the website.

I was mildly shocked when she mentioned that the shelter has rescued tarantulas, alligators, horses, pigs, hamsters, and more. That was really surprising to me, but nonetheless, they are clearly making a difference.

Elizabeth is facing struggles now with adapting these social media strategies to an organization that is not typically fully receptive of new ideas, and I think she is doing a great job. She is emphasizing the statistics and the metrics she is finding, and showing credible proof that her work is making a difference. I hope, that for her sake, soon she will be recognized.

Because seriously, how could you not love a face like this?

About Christina Moore

Originally from Portland, Maine, I am currently having the time of my life in Chicago, Illinois. I work for Mercy Home for Boys & Girls, and live with a fantastic group of roommates. Though a unique experience, I cherish this blessing. Enjoy readmoore!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

